A Break in the Headstone (or Loopholes in Absolute Truth)

The Witching hour is a time when supernatural beings are believed to be at their strongest. It’s generally considered to be from 3 a.m.- 4 a.m. “In some communities there is the belief that… the barrier between the world of the living and the dead is lifted.” – The Ghost Diaries on “The Witching Hour”

“But if she could have looked a little further back…she would have read there a different incantation. She would have known that…the Table would crack and Death itself would start working backwards.” – The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, by C.S. Lewis

“When the wind blows, the cradle will rock…/When the bough breaks the cradle will fall…”  – “Rock-a-bye Baby,” an old lullaby

 

sugar-skulls

The Preface: In my dreams, sometimes I am visited by versions of me that might have existed had I chosen differently in a 100 infinitesimal ways. When I wake up, I scramble to assemble all these might have beens, pressed with the weight of possibilities and stressed by the potential of What Could Be Lurking. I have to forcibly remember: You are not Her

A Break in the Headstone (or Loopholes in Absolute Truth)

The hour the veil between the worlds is thin
when
the Tempter and his minions, full of spite,
might
bedevil you with visions of the ghosts of choices past;
Cast
aspersions on the things you might have chosen.
Frozen
in another dimension maybe there’s another you
who
chose green not white, turned east instead of staying still
will
choose wise Her Own Adventure, another tale,
Hail
the possibilities perhaps you didn’t see;
be
a better version, by far a preferable updated set
yet
still end up here, on page 452
You.

 

 

(As a footnote, this fortuitously fit nicely with the word for today’s Daily Prompt, which was: Transmogrify)

5 thoughts on “A Break in the Headstone (or Loopholes in Absolute Truth)

  1. The poem was fire. The build up was too. It’s a very unique approach on making someone focus and really reach deep and see what your mind is seeing. This is crazy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cool. I was hoping to get people into the mindset. I’m hoping they see all the intersections of belief and mystery that I were in my head, in a way that I understood really clearly without quite being able to express.

      Like

  2. I love this poem! This is something I’ve thought of quite often; “who would I be had I….”. It’s something that can consume my thoughts for hours at a time. But I always come to the same conclusion.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment! It’s cool that so many things we experience as humans are uniquely ours and universally everyone else’s. I think that’s why the Dia de los Muertos inspiration really made it come together for me. Somewhere there are things we don’t understand, or can’t see, or maybe even don’t remember. But here we are, only us; and here they are, only them. And we only exist together. Ok, I’m thinking too much! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

